Parents And Young Adults Beware: Underage Drinking In Arizona Is A Serious Offense

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reported that about a third of teenagers had consumed alcohol and more than one in five reported having participated in binge drinking in the past month. Among the states where binge drinking among teens occur most, Arizona tops the list. Arizona has the highest percentage of high school students who binge drink at 30%. Arizona also ranks high for having an incredibly high percentage of teenagers who have reported having used methamphetamines, inhalants, and heroin.

With those kind of statistics, parents who send their kids to Arizona for college and young adults who enjoy the college party scene, should be aware of the penalties they face when consuming alcohol while under the legal drinking age of 21.

Arizona is a “0” tolerance state. This means that it is unlawful for minors to be found with any amount of alcohol in their body, regardless of whether or not they are impaired. The following are penalties for underage drinking and the charges you may face:

  • Jail Time
  • 2 year suspension of driver’s license or possibly denial
  • Fines up to $500
  • Probation
  • Alcohol education and counseling
  • Installation of ignition interlock device
  • Community service


If you are a parent whose child has been charged for underage drinking, let us guide you and your child through this process.



Similar Blog Posts